View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Whill Dark Lord of the Jedi (Owner/Admin)

Joined: 14 Apr 2008 Posts: 10488 Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy
|
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2022 3:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
DougRed4 wrote: | I don't see that as a benefit. To my knowledge, there's not really any benefit to only missing the TN by 3, as opposed to missing it by 7. A miss of the TN you're shooting for is still a failure, whether the roll missed the target by 1 or by 10 (though I suppose as GM I might narrate that it almost grazed the target when you miss by 1 and say that the shot completely misses the target if it was by 10). But even in that example, those are narrative things that don't actually have any effect (or benefit) in the game. |
Yes. In many success/failure skill attempts, this will be the case.
garhkal wrote: | There's some instances where missing it by a large #, can be hurtful.. Such as say if they're hacking a computer.. TN 25.. Get 14 or under, and an alarm sounds.. |
Agreed. Which is why I worded it as, "If there is no difference in the outcome, then the character did not get any benefit from the CPs used." What you describe is an example of a CP possibly making a difference to the outcome. If a CP burnt in play made the difference for an alarm not sounding, then they definitely got the benefit of that CP. _________________ *
Site Map
Forum Guidelines
Registration/Log-In Help
The Rancor Pit Library
Star Wars D6 Damage |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
garhkal Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 14303 Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.
|
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2022 1:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
True enough... Though would there be a cap on that 'gain back' cps?? If say they did 10 rolls, each with spending a CP on, and only 2 'got successes', would they really get 8cp back?? Or is there a limit? If they spent more than one CP, do they get all back, or just one? _________________ Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Whill Dark Lord of the Jedi (Owner/Admin)

Joined: 14 Apr 2008 Posts: 10488 Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy
|
Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2022 4:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
garhkal wrote: | True enough... Though would there be a cap on that 'gain back' cps?? If say they did 10 rolls, each with spending a CP on, and only 2 'got successes', would they really get 8cp back?? Or is there a limit? If they spent more than one CP, do they get all back, or just one? |
I don't see a need for a cap. The idea is, if any CP burnt in-play to boost a skill roll didn't benefit the character at all, they get it back at the end of the adventure. Like I said above in the thread, CPs not benefiting the character at all are rare in my game, so it wouldn't even come up that much. _________________ *
Site Map
Forum Guidelines
Registration/Log-In Help
The Rancor Pit Library
Star Wars D6 Damage |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
CRMcNeill Director of Engineering


Joined: 05 Apr 2010 Posts: 16381 Location: Redding System, California Sector, on the I-5 Hyperspace Route.
|
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2022 5:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I haven’t really been following this thread, but it just reminded me of an idea I had a while back. Short version: if you spend CP to boost a skill roll, if you roll a ‘6’ on any of those dice, you get that CP back; if you roll any other result, the D is treated as face value and the CP is expended.
If you’re using a split Character Point / Skill Point system, the same applies, but expended Character Points that come up ‘6’, the character gets back as a Skill Point, not a Character Point. _________________ "No set of rules can cover every situation. It's expected that you will make up new rules to suit the needs of your game." - The Star Wars Roleplaying Game, 2R&E, pg. 69, WEG, 1996.
The CRMcNeill Stat/Rule Index
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|