View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
garhkal Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 14303 Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.
|
Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 12:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Do you also allow any template to start with a ship that normally doesn't with the commensurate debt? _________________ Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Whill Dark Lord of the Jedi (Owner/Admin)

Joined: 14 Apr 2008 Posts: 10488 Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA, Earth, The Solar System, The Milky Way Galaxy
|
Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 1:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
garhkal wrote: | Do you also allow any template to start with a ship that normally doesn't with the commensurate debt? |
If it makes sense with respect to the particular PC's background, yes. The RAW templates are examples, not the limit of all character possibilities. That's the way D6 Space does it except it codifies it in game mechanics by owning a ship being an advantage and having a debt being a disadvantage. I don't go that far but it's the same general idea as the original Smuggler template. _________________ *
Site Map
Forum Guidelines
Registration/Log-In Help
The Rancor Pit Library
Star Wars D6 Damage |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Naaman Vice Admiral

Joined: 29 Jul 2011 Posts: 3190
|
Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 5:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
I dont think that could have been said any better, Whill. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dph Lieutenant

Joined: 17 Jul 2009 Posts: 95
|
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think as long as your game is balanced, it shouldn't be a problem, as another person commented, your Bounty Hunter will probably be throwing out more CPs in combat. But... As everyone's life depends on that ship staying together I can see (and have seen) how that can be a problem.
I allow any co-pilot (in a ship that allows for one) to use their CPs too, and of course gunners etc for their attacks. Perhaps you could also work out some system where others can make a command or tactics roll to assist and use their CP's... Gives those thin skills more scope too. _________________ Check out my campaign and others on Obsidian Portal!
http://www.obsidianportal.com/campaigns/roguetraders |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
garhkal Sovereign Protector


Joined: 17 Jul 2005 Posts: 14303 Location: Reynoldsburg, Columbus, Ohio.
|
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've also often seen DM's allow Co-pilots to chip in CP's when the pilot's making the roll.. _________________ Confucious sayeth, don't wash cat while drunk! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Bren Vice Admiral


Joined: 19 Aug 2010 Posts: 3868 Location: Maryland, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 1:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
It may be worth quoting the following:
Quote: | Multiple Skill Use
As in regular combat, each player must say exactly what
non-reaction skills his character is using at the beginning
of the combat round; the usual die code reductions for
multiple skill use apply (see page 12).
A pilot may use his piloting skill to affect the speed roll,
and may evade any number of times. He can also use his
gunnery skill to fire one weapon. In addition, he may
operate the shields. Each of these is a separate action, and
affects his die codes accordingly. When a pilot evades, he
uses piloting as a reaction skill (see page 12).
Example: A pilot’s skill is 3D. He uses it to affect the
speed roll, and to evade twice. When he makes his speed
roll, he does not yet know that he will evade, so he rolls
3D. When he evades the first time, he rolls 2D; and the
last time, 1D.
If the ship has room for at least two crew, one character
may act as copilot. The copilot can use his piloting skill
to affect the speed roll and to evade, just like the pilot.
However, they can't both affect the speed roll. If they both
evade, each is a separate skill use. A copilot can also fire
one weapon system, using his gunnery skill, or operate
the shields, using his shield skill.
Example: The pilot uses his skill of 3D to affect the
speed roll, and also fires a weapon; he'll roll 2D for piloting.
The copilot uses his skill of 2D to evade once. If the pilot
were doing all three things himself, he’d only roll 1D for
the evasion. |
—Star Wars Roleplaying Game 1E, page 62. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
yomama360 Cadet


Joined: 26 Oct 2016 Posts: 22
|
Posted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Wajeb Deb Kaadeb wrote: | The Pilot ended up saving everybody but also spending most of his CPs, and the player mentioned it. "Why do I always have to save the ship while everybody else rides?" |
Depending on how you GM, you may also rule that since the pilot did all that work, he gets a ton of XP (or CP) back at the end of the session or adventure. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|