The Rancor Pit Forum Index
Welcome to The Rancor Pit forums!

The Rancor Pit Forum Index
FAQ   ::   Search   ::   Memberlist   ::   Usergroups   ::   Register   ::   Profile   ::   Log in to check your private messages   ::   Log in

GM doing all the work and tired of it!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Rancor Pit Forum Index -> Gamemasters -> GM doing all the work and tired of it! Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bigkrieg
Sub-Lieutenant
Sub-Lieutenant

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 4:34 pm    Post subject: GM doing all the work and tired of it! Reply with quote

Hello fellow Gms

I have a question concerning how everyone who has ever been a GM handles players who put little to no effort into learning the game.

I have been Gming for this group of friends for several years now. A couple of them put absolutely no effort into learning the rules or the basic game mechanics. 2 out of the 4 have been playing the game with me off and on for about 15 years and know it fairly well but the other 2 do not. I should also mention that we only play once every month or so and the 2 that are not learning the rules, have only been played 1 other campaign. However, that campaign was weekly for about an entire year while in college.

I am getting tired of telling them how to use character points, how to increase skills, how modifiers work, MAPs etc.

At the same time, everyone really enjoys playing. I just get tired of doing all of the work.

Any suggestions?
ZzaphodD
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How can you play this game more than twice and NOT learn the rules?

To be fair, most of us have played this game on and off (at one time off for more than 10 yrs) since the beginning of the 90s.

But a couple of the players have recently joined, and they picked up the rules in a couple of games by just playing it...

Are you sure youre not doing D20? Wink
Lancil
Sub-Lieutenant